postmodernlogo_pmd1

1) Absence of Trust (Conceals weakness, hesitates to ask questions or offer help)

2) Fear of Conflict (Avoids critical controversial topics, works politics outside meetings, wastes time and energy)

3) Lack of Commitment (Creates ambiguous directions and priorities, loses opportunities with excessive analysis, breeds lack of confidence and second-guessing)

4)  Avoidance of Accountability (Encourages mediocrity and missed deadlines, places burden of discipline on leader instead of team)

5) Inattention to Results (Does not benefit from success or failure, encourages individual tangential efforts and distractions)

If you do not open up to me and I you, then we can not trust our purpose. Since I do not trust you I do not know your strategy and tactics, and fear or avoid healthy conflict. If I am using energy avoiding conflict, I can not commit to a positive relationship toward a mutually beneficial goal. Spending my time in avoidance, I do not want it revealed that we are not working as a team and do not want to be held accountable for the results. Success can not be shared because I do not trust you. Failure is deflected and corrective measures remain unaddressed. We fail but it may be a long miserable time and lots of life energy and negativity before we disengage the team. Where’s the love, chica? Where’s the truth, chico? What’s the point, then, mis hijos? (My summary).

Lencioni’s book is generally saw dust, though a wonderful postmodern attempt at revelation.  Still, there’s gold in them thar hills and I needed to wash some of the nuggets a bit for my own valuation and reference.

